Watch: Significance Of The 5 Days Of Durga Puja

After showering all her love and blessings to humankind, Durga finally heads back to her heavenly abode. Every year we bid her adieu with a heavy heart as the 5 days of joy and glory come to an end, as if in the blink of an eye.

That’s because Durga Puja is something every Bengali looks forward to throughout the entire year. More than a festival, it is an emotion – an element of joy, nostalgia, bonding and most importantly, homecoming.

The festival that was predominantly celebrated in Bengal, Odisha, Assam, Tripura and Bihar, is now acknowledged and even celebrated across the globe! Durga Puja celebrates Goddess Durga’s victory over the demon Mahishasura or the victory of womanhood over evil.

Also Read: Breakfast Babble: Why Durga Pujo Is Much More To Me Than Shopping And Pandal Hopping

Although it is a 10-day festival, the last 5 days are considered to be the most significant ones. But why is it so? What do these most awaited 5 days of Pujo signify?

We all indulge in loads of shopping, pandal hopping and all sorts of rituals associated but what exactly is the cultural, religious and metaphorical significance behind all of it? The video below will give you some brief knowledge!

The festival which is known by names like Akalbodhan and Sharodotsab in Bengal, Odisha, Assam and Tripura, is at the same time celebrated as Navaratri in other parts of the country, particularly in Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat.

While both are in the honour of Durga and held at the exact same time, the latter has a different set of days, each with its own unique significance. By which name is Durga Puja celebrated in your state? Tell us in the comments down below!

Disclaimer: This article has been fact-checked

Source: Bankbazaar, Outlook India, News18 +more

Image Source: Google Images

Find the blogger: @ParomaDey

This post is tagged under Durga Puja, Durga Pujo, Durga, Saraswati, Laxmi, Kartikeya, Ganesha, Mahishasura, Mahishasurmardini, sharodiya, Mahalaya, Sashthi, Saptami, Ashtami, Navami, Bijoy Dashami, Kanya Puja, shindur khela, Akalbodhan, Sharodotsab, Navaratri

Feature Image designed by Saudamini Seth

We do not hold any right/copyright over any of the images used. These have been taken from Google. In case of credits or removal, the owner may kindly mail us.

Other Recommendations:

What Went Behind Getting Durga Puja Recognized By UNESCO?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here