The Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha have seen a few interesting and dynamic sessions so far given the number of politicians it has had to suspend for a number of reasons.

With the No Confidence Motion being the talk of the town and that too getting a lot of eyeballs, we take a look at the ones who were suspended from either Rajya Sabha or Lok Sabha this year so far.

Raghav Chadha – AAP

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MP Raghav Chadha was suspended from Rajya Sabha after he was accused of forging the signatures of five Members of Parliament for the Delhi Services Bill.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar speaking on the movie said, “…I suspend Raghav Chadha from the service of the Council till the Council has the benefit of the report by the Committee of Privileges.”

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury – Congress

Congress’s leader in the Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury was suspended from Lok Sabha on 11th August for allegedly ‘attacking Prime Minister Narendra Modi and disturbing the ministers’.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi had moved the motion to suspend the Congress leader “This House having taken the serious note of the gross, deliberate and repeated misconduct of Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury in utter disregard to the House and authority of Chair resolves that the matter of his misconduct be referred to Committee of Privileges of the House for the further investigation and report to the House and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury be suspended from the service of the House till the Committee submits its report.”

Apparently, Chowdhury’s remarks in the House were removed from records but speaking with media outside he clarified “What did I say? I said a king should not be blind like Dhritarashtra to what is happening against women, whether it is in Hastinapur or Manipur… I did not abuse Modi. It is a metaphorical way of depicting the situation.”

He further added “Then I said though (fugitive diamantaire) Nirav Modi has fled the country, there is a Nirav Modi. Nirav means one who is quiet. So I told the PM that you talk about the cheetahs in Kuno but you are quiet on Manipur… If I said anything wrong, I am ready to leave public life… it (suspension) is the tyranny of the majority.”

Read More: Demystifier: What Is The Uniform Civil Code & What Makes It So Controversial In India?

Sanjay Singh – AAP

AAP MP Sanjay Singh was reportedly suspended for the remainder of the Monsoon session of the Rajya Sabha for repeatedly “violating” directives of the chair. Leader of the House Piyush Goyal moved the motion to suspend him and Rajya Sabha chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar called out Singh for “unruly behaviour”.

Apparently when the House met for the session on July 24th when during the ruckus for the Manipur violence and the PM’s silence over it, during Question Hour Singh pointed out at the chairman.

It was after this that Goyal stated “This kind of behaviour ….and disturbing the House is completely against the ethics and rules of the House. The government wants to move a motion to suspend Sanjay Singh.”

Sushil Kumar Rinku – AAP

AAP party’s member Sushil Kumar Rinku was suspended from the Lok Sabha on 4th August for the rest of the Monsoon session.

The member of the party in the Lok Sabha was moved to be suspended for unruly behaviour as during the passing of the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill, he came to the well of the house, tore up papers throwing them towards Speaker Om Birla.

Rajani Patil – Congress

Congress MP Rajani Patil had been suspended from Rajya Sabha in February this year during the budget session of Parliament for videotaping the proceedings and thus violating the rules of the House.

Although she’d been suspended during an earlier session using Rule 266 read with Rule 256 the Chairman had announced that Patil’s suspension can go beyond just the current session.

However, on August 7th, 2023 Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar revoked her suspension after many tries.

Rahul Gandhi – Congress

Of course, perhaps the most famous disqualification of the entire year was that of Congress’s Rahul Gandhi for the defamation case.

Gandhi was disqualified as a member of the Parliament on 23rd March after he was convicted and sentenced by a Surat Court to two years of jail term for making defamatory remarks against Narendra Modi during the 2019 Indian general election campaign.

Although Gandhi was able to get bail in April, the same court rejected his appeal to stay the conviction on 20th April and then again in July 2023 by the Gujarat High Court. His conviction was ultimately stayed by the Supreme Court on 4th August with Gandhi rejoining the Parliament afterward.

Image Credits: Google Images

Feature Image designed by Saudamini Seth

Sources: Business Today, Hindustan Times, The Hindu

Find the blogger: @chirali_08

This post is tagged under: rajya sabha suspend 2023, rajya sabha suspension, lok sabha suspend 2023, lok sabha suspension, AAP MP Sanjay Singh, AAP Sanjay Singh rajya sabha, Derek O’Brien, Derek O’Brien rajya sabha, Raghav Chaddha, Raghav Chaddha rajya sabha, rahul gandhi suspension

Disclaimer: We do not hold any right, copyright over any of the images used, these have been taken from Google. In case of credits or removal, the owner may kindly mail us.

Other Recommendations:

IndiGo Used To Be A Kick-Ass Airline, What Happened To It?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here