Wednesday, February 28, 2024
HomeFinanceWhat A CV ... Exemplary

What A CV … Exemplary





1962: D. Phil., Nuffield College, University of Oxford. Topic: India’s Export Trends and Prospects for  Self-Sustained Growth. [Published by Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1964]
1957: Economic Tripos [First Class honours], University of Cambridge
1954: M.A. Economics, Panjab University – First Class with first position in the University
1952: B.A. Economics(Hons.), Panjab University – Second Class with first position in the University
1950: Intermediate Panjab University – First Class with first position in the University
1948: Matriculation, Panjab University – First class

2000: Conferred Annasaheb Chirmule Award by the W.LG. alias Annasaheb Chirmule Trust setup by United Western Bank Limited, Satara, Maharashtra
1999: Received H.H. Kanchi Sri Paramacharya Award for Excellence from Shri R. Venkataraman, former President of India and Patron, The Centenarian Trust
1999: Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences,New Delhi.
1997: Conferred Lokmanya Tilak Award by the Tilak Smarak Trust, Pune
1997: Received Justice K.S. Hegde Foundation Award for the year 1996
1997: Awarded Nikkei Asia prize for Regional Growth by the Nihon Keizai Shimbun Inc. (NIKKEI), publisher of Japan’s leading business daily
1996: Honorary Professor, Delhi School of Economics,University of Delhi, Delhi
1995: Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Award of the Indian Science Congress Association for 1994-95
1994: Asiamoney Award, Finance Minister of the Year
1994: Elected Distinguished Fellow, London School of Economics, Centre for Asia Economy, Politics and Society
1994: Elected Honorary Fellow, Nuffield College, University of Oxford, Oxford, U.K.
1994: Honorary Fellow, All India Management Association
1993: Euromoney Award, Finance Minister of the year
1993: Asiamoney Award, Finance Minister of the Year
1987: Padma Vibhushan Award by the President of India
1986: National Fellow, national Institute of Education, N.C.E.R.T.
1985: Elected President, Indian economic Association
1982: Elected Honorary Fellow, st. John’s College, Cambridge,
1982: Elected Honorary Fellow, Indian Institute of bankers
1976: Honorary Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
1957: Elected Wrenbury Scholar, University of Cambridge, U.K.
1955: Awarded Wright’s Prize for distinguished performance, & St. John’s college, Cambridge, U.K.
1956: Awarded Adam Smith Prize, University of Cambridge, U.K.
1954: Uttar Chand Kapur Medal, Panjab university, for standing first in M.A.(Economics), panjab University, Chandigarh
1952: University Medal for standing First in B.A. Hon.(Economics), panjab University, Chandigarh

Recipient of Honorary Degrees of D.Litt. from:
– Panjab University, Chandigarh
– Guru Nanak University, Amritsar
– Delhi University, delhi
– Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupathi
– University of Bologna, Italy
– University of Mysore, Mysore
– Chaudhary charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar (D.Sc)
– Kurukshetra University
– Thapar Institute of Engineering & Technology, patiala (D.Sc)
– Nagarjuna University, Nagarjunanagar
– Osmania University, Hyderabad
– University of Roorkee, Roorkee (Doctor of Social Sciences)
– Doctor of Laws by the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
– Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar University (formerly Agra University) – Doctor Letters degree
– Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad (Deemed University) D.Sc. (Honoris Causa)
– Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur


May 22, 2004 – till date: Prime Minister of India
March 21, 1998 – May 22,2004: Leader of Opposition, Rajya Sabha (Council of States) Parliament of India
June, 2001: Re-elected as member of Rajya Sabha for a Term of six years
August 1, 1996 – Dec 4, 1997: Chairman, Parliamentary Standing Committee on Commerce, Rajya Sabha
June 21, 1991- May 15, 1996: Finance Minister of India
June, 1995: Re-elected Member of Rajya Sabha for a term of six years
September, 1991: Elected Member of Rajya Sabha
March 1991-June 1991: Chairman, University Grants Commission
Dec 1990 – March 1991: Advisor to Prime Minister of India on Economic Affairs
August 1987 – Nov 1990: Secretary General and Commissioner, South Commission
Jan 1985- July 1987: Dy. Chairman, Planning Commission of India
Sept 1982 – Jan 1985: Governor, Reserve Bank of India
April 1980 – Sept 1982: Member-Secretary, Planning Commission, India
Nov.1976 – April 1980: Secretary, Ministry of Finance; Dept. of Economic Affairs, Government of India; Member [Finance], Atomic Energy Commission, Govt. of India; Member [Finance], Space Commission, Govt. of India
1972 – 1976: Chief Economic Adviser, Ministry of Finance, India
1971 – 1972: Economic Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Trade, India
1969 – 1971: Professor of International Trade, Delhi School of Economics, Delhi University, India
1966 – 1969: UNCTAD, United Nations Secretariat, New York; Chief, Financing for Trade Section
1966: Economic Affairs Officer
1957 – 1965: Panjab University, Chandigarh
1963-65: Professor of Economics
1959-63: Reader in Economics
1957-59: Senior Lecturer in economics


Leader of the Indian delegation to the Commonwealth
Heads of Government Meeting, Cyprus (1993)
Leader of the Indian delegation to the Human Rights World Conference, Vienna (1993)
Governor of India on the Board of Governors of the IMF and the International Bank of Reconstruction & Development (1991-95)
Appointed by Prime Minister of India as Member, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime minister (1983-84)
Chairman, India Committee of the Indo-japan ;Joint Study Committee (1980-83)

– Leader, Indian Delegation to:
Indo-Soviet Monitoring Group Meeting (1982)
Indo-Soviet Joint Planning Group Meeting (1980- 82)
Aid India Consortium Meetings (1977-79)

– Member Indian Delegation to:
South-South Consultation, New Delhi (1982)
Cancun Summit on North-South Issues (1981)
Aid-India Consortium Meetings, Paris (1973-79)
Annual Meetings of IMF, IBRD & Commonwealth Finance Ministers (1972-79)
Third Session of UNCTAD, Santiago (April-May 1972)
Meetings of UNCTAD Trade & Development Board, Geneva (May 1971 – July 1972)
Ministerial Meeting of Group of 77, Lima (Oct.1971)
– Deputy for India on IMF Committee of Twenty on International Monetary Reform (1972 – 74)
– Associate, Meetings of IMF Interim Committee and Joint Fund-Bank Development Committee (1976-80, 1982-85)
– Alternate Governor for India, Board of Governors of IBRD (1976-80)
– Alternate Governor for India, Board of Governors of the IMF (1982-85)
– Alternate Governor for India, Board of Governors, Asian Development Bank, Manila (1976-80)
– Director, Reserve Bank of India (1976-80)
– Director, Industrial Development Bank of India (1976- 80)
– Participated in Commonwealth Prime Ministers Meeting, Kingston (1975)
– Represented Secretary;-General UNCTAD at several inter-governmental meetings including :
Second Session of UNCTAD, 1968
Committee on Invisibles & Financing Related to Trade, Consultant to UNCTAD, ESCAP and Commonwealth Secretariat

– Member, International Organizations:
Appointed as Member by the Secretary-General, United Nations of a Group of Eminent Persons to advise him on Financing for Development (December, 2000)


(i) Author of book “India’s Export Trends and Prospects for Self-Sustained Growth” [Clarendon Press, Oxford University, 1964]
(ii) Have published a large number of articles in economic journals

Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Watch: Total Electoral Bonds Received By Political Parties Since 2018

The Supreme Court recently made a significant ruling declaring the Electoral Bond Scheme in India unconstitutional just ahead of the upcoming General Elections. The...

Subscribe to India’s fastest growing youth blog
to get smart and quirky posts right in your inbox!

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner