Monaco Grand Prix 2014


The Monaco Grand Prix is held each year at the Circuit de Monaco. This location is regarded as an exceptional location of glamour and prestige.  It is a very tight and technical course., like ‘Cycling around in your Living Room.’  Triple Formula One champion Nelson Piquet was fond of saying a win at Monaco was equivalent to two wins anywhere else.  Kimi Raikonnen holds the fastest lap at this circuit. The record was set way back in 2006. The most wins at Monaco is 6 and the title is held by Formula One legend Ayrton Senna.

On Sunday’s race Nico Rosberg took pole. Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo started at second and third places respective. The top three finished the race in the same order. Fernando Alonso, Nico Hulkenberg and Jenson Button finished in 4th,5th and 6th places respectivelyMonaco-Grand-Prix-I-slider-1

Nico Rosberg claimed his second consecutive Monaco win and has retaken the championship lead.  An incident during qualification was investigated by the stewards. He caused the yellow flags to be brought out, and this allegedly cost Hamilton a chance at pole position.

Currently Nico Rosberg is leading the championship points with 122 points, ahead of Lewis Hamilton’s 118. Fernando Alonso and David Riccardio have 61 and 54. Nico Hulkenberg has 47. In constructor’s standing Mercedes has a huge lead with 240 points. Red Bull and Ferrari have 99 and 78 points. Force India is at 4th with 67 points and McLaren is 5th with 52 points.

Formula One returns on the 8th of June for the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal.  58703f8d65de3144320435859f47d102 monaco-grand-prix-d12mon3208


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here