Friday, July 19, 2024
HomeSportsThe F1 Points System

The F1 Points System


Various systems for awarding championship points have been used since 1950. As of 2010, the top ten cars are awarded points, the winner receiving 25 points. The total number of points won at each race are added up, and the driver and constructor with the most points at the end of the season are World Champions. If both a team’s cars finish in the points, they both receive Constructors Championship points. Nevertheless, the Drivers and Constructors Championships often have different results.

To receive points, a driver must be classified. Strictly speaking, in order to be classified, a driver need not finish the race, but complete at least 90% of the winner’s race distance. Therefore, it is possible for a driver to receive some points even if he retired before the end of the race.

In the event that less than 75% of the race laps are completed by the winner, only half of the points listed in the table are awarded to the drivers and constructors for the listed positions. This has happened on only five occasions in the history of the championship, and it has decided the championship winner on one occasion. The last occurrence was at the 2009 Malaysian Grand Prix when the race was called off after 31 laps due to torrential rain. This was the first time half points were awarded since the 1991 Australian Grand Prix.

A driver can switch teams during the season and, for the Drivers Championship, keep all points gained at the previous team. In 2010, F1 modified its points system, giving points to the first ten drivers instead of eight or six in previous years.

    Position –  Points

  1.         –   25
  2.         –   18
  3.         –   15
  4.         –   12
  5.         –   10
  6.         –   08
  7.         –   06
  8.         –   04
  9.         –   02
  10.         –   01
Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read